My First Flower Arrangement

Standard

It must be all this wedding planning that made me want to get some flowers for my lovely vase that I got for Valentines Day (the roses did not last long :(). Yesterday I brought two bunches of daffodils – none of the flowers were open when I brought them but by the late afternoon a few had started to open. This morning – they are all pretty much open and add a lovely bright yellow springness to our dining room!

So this morning I hobbled up the road (still have problems with my knee :() to a lovely little flower shop called The Red Flower Barrow. I have always driven past this shop and thought what a lovely little shop it looks. The florist was lovely and very helpful – I love it when people are very enthusiastic about something they love – a bit like me with my crafty stuff! So after 20 odd minutes going through different types of flowers, I walked away with everything I needed to make my own flower arrangement.

Here is what I brought:

 

I have pink Gerberas, purple Tulips, purple Aster, Eucalyptus and green Leather Leaf.

Now here’s hoping I can do them justice and arrange them nicely!

 

 

 

 

 

After fiddling with what height I wanted for the arrangement and where to put each of the Gerberas and Tulips – I was finally happy to start adding the filler flowers – the Aster, Eucalyptus and the Leather Leaf. Proved a little difficult to get it all balanced right as the Tulips were remarkably heavy compared to the other flowers and the oasis kept tipping forward because of this.

So, after a few little distractions (Dottie and Lillie decided they wanted to sniff every single flower and brush past my arrangement constantly!), my first ever flower arrangement was finished!

What do you think?

Not bad for my first attempt don’t you think?

Think it looks lovely in my butterfly vase – thank you PR for your excellent choice 🙂

Miss C xx

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

